The Coastal Invasive Species Committee (Coastal ISC) is a registered non-profit society serving the geographic areas of Vancouver Island, the Gulf Islands and the Regional Districts of Powell River, Sunshine Coast, Mount Waddington and Strathcona, occurring on the Mainland coast (see map).

Our Vision:

Communities, resources and ecosystems in the Coastal ISC service area are protected from the negative impacts of invasive alien species.

Our Mission:

         The Coastal ISC takes a leadership role to reduce the negative impacts of invasive alien species by:

Our Service Area:




Our Constitution and Bylaws

The fundamental principles which govern the operation of the Coastal ISC is outlined in our Constitution and Bylaws document.  Bylaws are the specific rules of guidance by which the Coastal ISC functions. 



Our Members and Partners

The following agencies and groups are working in partnership with the Coastal ISC to achieve more effective management of invasive plants in the Coastal region:

Agriculture Environment Wildlife Fund (Ardcorp)
BC Landscape & Nursery Association (BCLNA)
BC Ministry of Agriculture and Lands (MAL)
BC Ministry of Environment (MoE)
BC Ministry of Forests and Range (FLRNO)
BC Ministry of Transportation and Highways (MoTH)
BC Shellfish Growers Association (BCSGA)
BC Society of Landscape Architects
BC Hydro
Butchart Gardens
Capital Regional District (CRD)
Canada Food Inspection Agency (CFIA)

City of Powell River
City of Nanaimo
City of Victoria
Comox Valley Land Trust
Comox Valley Naturalist Society
Comox Valley Regional District
Conservancy Hornby Island
Cortes Land Conservancy
Cowichan Community Land Trust Society
Cowichan Tribes
Cowichan Valley Regional District (CVRD)
Denman Conservancy Association
Department of Fisheries and Oceans (DFO)
Department of National Defense (DND)
District of Oak Bay
District of North Cowichan
District of Saanich
Ducks Unlimited Canada
E & N Rail (Island Corridor Foundation)

Farmers’ Institute (District ‘A’ and Coombs)

Fortis BC (formerly Terasen Gas)

Friends of French Creek

Galiano Conservancy Association
Garry Oak Ecosystem Recovery Team (GOERT)
Island Farmer’s Alliance
Invasive Species Council of BC (ISCBC)
Islands Trust
Lehigh Gravel
Mayne Island Conservancy
Millard-Piercy Watershed Stewards
Nanaimo-Cedar Farmer’s Institute
Native Plant Society of BC
Parks Canada, Gulf Islands National Park Reserve (GINPR)
Parksville Streamkeepers
Pender Islands Conservancy Association

Powell River Regional District
Regional District of Nanaimo (RDN)                                     
Qualicum Beach Streamkeepers

Royal BC Museum
Salt Spring Island Conservancy
Savary Island Land Trust Society
Sayward Farmers Institute
Somenos Basin Committee
Swan Lake-Christmas Hill Nature Sanctuary
Texada Island Conservancy
The Land Conservancy of BC
The Land Trust Alliance of BC
The Nature Trust of BC
Tsolum River Restoration Society
University of Victoria
Vancouver Island University
Western Canada Turfgrass Association